Thursday, April 27, 2017

The Good Spy Dies Twice ~ ~ ~ Audio Tour, Review, Audio Excerpt, & $50 Amazon Giveaway!



Author: Mark Hosack

Narrator: Mark Hosack

Length: 10h 19m

Publisher:Wide Awake Audio⎮2017

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Release date: Jan. 19, 2017



Jake Boxer, investigative journalist and host of the conspiratorial news show Bullseye, is in serious trouble. Not only is his soundman murdered by Russian intelligence agents while reporting on a secretive New World Order, but his network cancels his show, leaving Jake humiliated and spiraling into a deep dark depression.

Years later, a condemned murderer, who claims he was abandoned by the CIA, and who starred in an early episode of Bullseye, is finally executed for killing two supposed Soviet spies back in the 1970s.

Jake Boxer, still trying to piece his life back together, is on his honeymoon in a posh ski resort in the Alaskan mountains when he gets word of the inmate’s execution . . . and the old killer’s final words: “The good spy dies twice.”

Those five words, seemingly meant for Jake, draw the ex-reporter from his forced retirement and into a complex and deadly global conspiracy involving his newlywed wife, the secretive New World Order, and the hotel’s hundred or so “guests.”

Everyone is a suspect.

Described as James Bond in a Stephen King novel, THE GOOD SPY DIES TWICE is the explosive first book in the Bullseye Series. Part spy thriller, part whodunit, this fast-paced novel introduces an exciting new hero, the intrepid, conspiratorial journalist, Jake Boxer.

Buy on AudibleAmazoniTunes

Limited time only: Get the ebook at a special price and add the audiobook for just $1.99 on Amazon



Mark Hosack is the author of THE GOOD SPY DIES TWICE (Book 1: The Bullseye Series, nominated for the 2016 RT Source Award), and IDENTITY (Simon & Schuster). He also wrote on the web series SEQUESTERED for Sony Crackle, the screenplay for GIVE 'EM HELL, MALONE (Thomas Jane, Ving Rhames), and he both wrote and directed the award winning independent film PALE BLUE MOON. Mark lives in Los Angeles with his wife and a brood of gremlins who insist on calling him Dad.

WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreads


play-symbol
CLICK TO LISTEN!


HALL WAYS REVIEW: Audio book review. Overall rating clarification 3.5. The Good Spy Dies Twice is a contemporary conspiracy thriller from author Mark Hosack that apart from the flashbacks, places readers in the US, post-2016 election time frame.  It is tense and at times intense. Our main character, Jake Boxer, is not at all the typical lead man readers would expect in this kind of story; rather, he is deeply flawed, which for me is a refreshing break from the stud hero spy guy.

Due to some occupational hazards in his former line of work as an investigative reporter, Jake suffers from paranoia – but then, with all that transpires, doesn’t he ultimately have a reason to be paranoid? Jake is an unreliable narrator because the reader can’t be sure if what he’s saying/feeling/doing is because he’s paranoid, under the influence of his pain meds, haunted by his nightmares, or being visited by ghosts (real or imagined).  He is mostly operating in a fog, but he also has his moments of clarity, and even brilliance as we come to the big reveal, which surprisingly happens with a fair amount left in the story. 

The premise is excellent, the characters are interesting and even intriguing, Hosack’s descriptions are detailed and realistic, and the plot is intricate and full of twists and turns and surprises – all elements that kept me listening. Where I struggled was in the details. There are decisions characters make that don’t ring true (especially for survival situations). There are procedures that seem illogical and unrealistic (and even incorrect – land lines that aren’t digital do not need electricity to work), and there are a lot of deus ex machina solutions and resolutions.  YET. . . that story kept my interest piqued.

The narration by author Mark Hosack at times slips into a Rod Serling-ish vibe, but it is performed with passion and real emotional investment.  Jake’s fears, paranoia, and anxiety are depicted very well. There is some inconsistency in the voices of other characters (primarily Al, the concierge), but overall, author and narrator Hosack does an admirable job carrying the story and the tension. I did find the pace a little slow at regular speed, but bumping to 1.25x was perfect for me (and probably even adds to the tension ramping up.)  An unexpected aspect to the audio book was the inclusion of some sound effects and musical transitions that sometimes work well (especially towards the end of the story) and other times feel awkward.

I listened to The Good Spy Dies Twice while on a road trip, and I have no regrets that I spent my time that way. As is always the case with audio books while driving, the downside is that I can’t retain specific quotes - and there are some good ones - and I don’t have the luxury of being able to flip back pages to do some re-reading to clear-up any confusion.  I’ll be looking forward to book two of the Bullseye Series, The Chaos Agent, hopefully coming later this year.

Thank  you to Audiobookworm Promotions for providing me an audio download in exchange for my honest opinion – the only kind I give.





The Good Spy Dies Twice Giveaway



Apr. 17: CGB Blog Tours

Apr. 18: Dab of Darkness

Apr. 19: Lomeraniel

Apr. 20: terriluvsbooks

Apr. 21: Spunky-n-Sassy

Apr. 22: Blogger Nicole





Apr. 27: Hall Ways












ABW Promos3
➜Sign up as a host here

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Hide From Me ~ ~ Cover Reveal!






Hide From Me 
By Mary Lindsey
Publisher:  Entangled Teen
Publication Date:  November 7, 2017

"We all hold a beast inside. The only difference is what form it takes when freed."

Something's not right about Rain Ryland's new hometown. On the surface, it's a friendly, tight-knit community, but something deadly lurks underneath the small-town charm. Everyone he meets is hiding something—especially Friederike Burkhart, the hottest girl he's ever laid eyes on. Rain's determined to find out her secret, even if it kills him...and it just might.

Ancient magic and modern society collide in a sexy, spellbinding romance perfect for fans of C. C. Hunter and Maggie Stiefvater that proves sometimes beauty is the beast…
  
CLICK TO PRE-ORDER
  
Mary Lindsey is a multi award-winning, RITA® nominated author of romance for adults and teens. She lives on an island in the middle of a river. Seriously, she does. When not writing, she wrangles her rowdy pack of three teens, two Cairn Terriers, and one husband.

Inexplicably, her favorite animal is the giant anteater and at one point, she had over 200 "pet" Madagascar Hissing Cockroaches. The roaches are a long story involving three science-crazed kids and a soft spot for rescue animals. The good news is, the "pet" roaches found a home... somewhere else.










Thursday, April 20, 2017

Deep Extraction ~ ~ ~ Blog Tour, Trailer, & Giveaway!


DEEP EXTRACTION
An FBI Task Force Novel, Book 2
by
By DiAnn Mills

  Genre: Contemporary / Mystery / Christian
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
Date of Publication: April 4, 2017
Number of Pages: 413

Scroll down for Giveaway!
  

A pacemaker should have saved oil and gas magnate Nathan Moore’s life. Instead, it provided his killer with a seemingly perfect means of execution.
A bombing at one of Nathan’s oil rigs days earlier indicates his death could be part of a bigger conspiracy, a web Special Agent Tori Templeton must untangle. But her first order of business is separating the personal from the professional—the victim’s wife, her best friend, is one of the FBI’s prime suspects.
Clearing Sally’s name may be the biggest challenge of her career, but Tori finds an unexpected ally in the newest member of the task force, recently reinstated Deputy US Marshal Cole Jeffers. As Tori and Cole dig deeper into Nathan’s personal and business affairs, they uncover more than they bargained for. And the closer they get to finding the real killer—and to each other—the more intent someone is on silencing them for good.

Watch the book trailer!

Praise for Deep Extraction
“Combined with intense action and stunning twists, this search for truth keeps readers on the edges of their favorite reading chairs.”  Romantic Times

“Mills many fans will devour” Library Journal

Goodreads readers praise Deep Extraction
“This was truly an amazing, suspenseful read that can be held up as an example of what good Christian suspense should be.” 

“DiAnn Mills' writing is evocative of an excellent crime show. Sharp and to the point. Just how I imagine law enforcement work, think and talk.”

“Mills' has captured the rush of adrenaline along with a good romance. Suspense and adventure are the real stars of this book.  Her motto is, "Expect an Adventure," and she achieves it in this book.”
 


DiAnn Mills is a bestselling author who believes her readers should expect an adventure. She combines unforgettable characters with unpredictable plots to create action-packed, suspense-filled novels.

Her titles have appeared on the CBA and ECPA bestseller lists; won two Christy Awards; and been finalists for the RITA, Daphne Du Maurier, Inspirational Readers’ Choice, and Carol award contests. Library Journal presented her with a Best Books 2014: Genre Fiction award in the Christian Fiction category for Firewall.

DiAnn is a founding board member of the American Christian Fiction Writers; a member of Advanced Writers and Speakers Association; International Thriller Writers, and the Faith, Hope, and Love chapter of Romance Writers of America. She is co-director of The Author Roadmap with social media specialist Edie Melson where she continues her passion of helping other writers be successful. She speaks to various groups and teaches writing workshops around the country.

DiAnn has been termed a coffee snob and roasts her own coffee beans. She’s an avid reader, loves to cook, and believes her grandchildren are the smartest kids in the universe. She and her husband live in sunny Houston, Texas.

DiAnn is very active online and would love to connect with readers on any of the social media platforms listed at www.diannmills.com.

 --------------------------------------- 
ENTER TO WIN ONE OF FIFTEEN COPIES!
 (US ONLY)
   April 20-May4, 2017 


CHECK OUT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR:
20-Apr
Review
21-Apr
Guest Post: 4 Agencies You Didn’t Know Worked With the FBI
22-Apr
Review
23-Apr
Excerpt: Chapter 1, Part 1
24-Apr
Guest Post: 4 Ways the FBI Assists Other Agencies
25-Apr
Review
26-Apr
Guest Post: 6 Ways the FBI Investigates a Potential Threat
27-Apr
Guest Post: 9 Crimes the FBI Investigates
28-Apr
Review
29-Apr
Guest Post: 10 Ways to Show Character Growth and Change
30-Apr
Promo
1-May
Review
2-May
Guest Post: 10 Ways to Show You're a Strong Woman
3-May
Excerpt: Chapter 1, Part 2
4-May
Review

 

   blog tour services provided by



RELATED:
Click for Tour Info
My fangirl moment with the author TLA2017